It is only September, and some stores are still setting up for Halloween. I don’t think that the dollar store even has my bucket of candy corn and mellowcreme pumpkins out yet. Every year, the family at least gets 2 of the buckets because we love candy corn and mellowcreme pumpkins. I love the pumpkins a little more than the candy corn.

While I already have my Halloween planned, I never thought that I would have to think about Christmas… in September! As Dad and I were out running errands yesterday morning, we had to stop by Walmart to pick something up for Mom. As we drove past the Garden center, I saw something that made me wonder if Walmart had been delving into “Happy Hour” a little too much. But what to my wondering eyes should appear, an inflatable Santa decoration, and a plush Santa in a deer blind. I wanted to make the comment “Oh, so that’s how Santa recruits reindeer”, but I was too flabbergasted at what possessed Walmart to put out decorations in September to make the brusque remark.

I’m not sure if Walmart knows this, but Halloween comes before Christmas. Then Thanksgiving comes before Christmas but after Halloween. Once we’re done with Halloween and Thanksgiving, I believe Christmas is next on the calendar. I’ll have to double check all of my calendars, but I’m pretty sure that’s the way it goes. Maybe Walmart needs a new calendar. Apparently their’s has Holiday errors.

