Tags

, , ,

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Been a little busy but for the past couple of days, I’ve been wanting to head to Michael’s to get some raffia and leaves for a craft that I saw in FamilyFun but because my family suffers from allergies, I needed something “allergy-friendly” and something I could use every Fall. After the sticker shock initially wore off, I found something that was actually a little more fun than buy tons of packages of 3 or 4 leaves. Here’s the craft: WHAT YOU’LL NEED

  • Raffia (I’m using Ashland Raffia-2oz)
  • 15 Faux Leaves (If you don’t feel like spending 99 cents on a pack of 3 or 4 leaves, get 2 autumnal leave garland. I snagged 2 6ft garlands at Michael’s for $4.99 each- marked down from $12.99!)
  • Scissors

WHAT TO DO

  1. Bunch up enough raffia to be at least 1/2″ to 1″ wide. Make sure that one end of the raffia lines up. That will make it easier to pass the leaf though, trust me. LOL
  2. If you’re using packages of leaves, cut a small hold (big enough to pass the raffia through, though) on one end of the leaf. If you’re using garland, take the leaves off and separate them. Keep them in a plastic bag so they stay in one place. Be sure to cut a small hole in those leaves as well.
  3. String each leaf onto the raffia, stopping a few inches from the bottom. DO NOT cut any raffia as you string. You will need all of it to tie later on.
  4. When you have strung all 15 leaves on, wrap the crown around the wearer’s head to make sure that it’s a good fit. Make sure that you stlll have at least 5-6 inches of raffia left on the crown itself.
  5. Take the two ends of the crown, and combine them. Tie a knot, but before you completely tie it, string a long piece of raffia halfway through. Tie, and place upon your head for instant Fall enjoyment!

If you’re wondering about pricing, I spent only $16 and I have enough of raffia and leaves to make at least 5 crowns! Well, I only made 3 and 1 pretty full garland.

